My 75


I’m not known for setting and achieving goals. Oh I accomplish tasks and meet deadlines, but I don’t really do the planned out goal-setting thing. However, the 2012 Reading Challenge on Goodreads, piqued my interest. I knew I could read a good number of books in a year. It was just a question of how many.

When I started the challenge, I decided to go small and set 50 books as my goal. I like 50. It’s a nice, round number.  I started the challenge in March, but lost sight of it. However, I kept reading because that’s what I do. Some of the books were fabulous, some less so.  In June, I realized that I was going to meet my goal before the end of the year, so I stretched the goal to 75.  Last weekend, I realized I hit 75. And then I realized I hadn’t set the “date read” for all of the books I’d read. When I adjusted the dates, my total went up to 83. I was rather pleasantly surprised to see how many books I had actually read.  Scratch that. I was elated. Not only had I accomplished my goal (twice, technically) but I’d surpassed it! By a lot!  I had accomplished a goal doing something I love: reading.

I’m sure you’ve had the feeling of accomplishing a major goal like graduating (high school, college, graduate school, etc.) or finishing requirements for a certificate (New York State permanent teaching –  whoo boy!) or having enough money saved to buy a car or house or what have you.  When it’s something related to schooling or work, there’s a different feeling from when you accomplish something that’s only and completely related to something you do for pleasure.  I know I am the biggest geek on the planet, but I’m really proud of myself for reading 75 books before the end of the year.  I don’t know if I’ll ever do it again – who knows what tomorrow brings?  At least I can say that I did it this year.  I set a goal and I achieved it.

Below you’ll find the list of the books that made up my 75 (83). You can find them all on Amazon.com. I must give some serious props to Amazon.Com for their Kindle store – they’ve got so many free e-books that it’s hard for a girl like me to not find something to read. I also give many thanks to the Westchester Library System which has allowed me to borrow e-books for my Kindle and exposed me to authors I wouldn’t normally choose.

Sorry for not linking them all individually, but seriously, that’d take a long time.

Two Ravens One Crow by Kevin Hearne

A Fall of Water by Elizabeth Hunter

This Same Earth by Elizabeth Hunter

A Hidden Fire by Elizabeth Hunter

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

The Treachery of Beautiful Things by Ruth Frances Long

Gabriel’s Rapture by Sylvain Reynard

Gabriel’s Inferno by Sylvain Reynard

Blameless by Gail Carriger

Tempest’s Fury by Nicole Peeler

Eye of the Tempest by Nicole Peeler

Tempest’s Legacy by Nicole Peeler

Tracking the Tempest by Nicole Peeler

Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler

The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

Sojourner book 1 by Maria Rachel Hooley

The Constantine Affliction by T. Aaron Payton

Timeless by Gail Carriger

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Touchstone by Melanie Rawn

The First Confessor by Terry Goodkind

City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

Diviner by Melanie Rawn

Amped by Daniel H. Wilson

Anvil of Tears, book 1 of the Reforged Trilogy by Erica Lindquist and Aron Christensen

Redshirts by John Scalzi

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness

Tricked by Kevin Hearne

Hammered by Kevin Hearne

Kiss the Dead by Laurell K. Hamilton

Hexed by Kevin Hearne

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Procession of the Dead by D.B. Shan

Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor

Hounded by Kevin Hearne

Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

The Magicians by Lev Grossman

A Perfect Blood by Kim Harrison

The Passage by Justin Cronin

The Winter Sea by Susanna Kearsley

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

The Magician King by Lev Grossman

Once Upon a Time in Space by Heather Massey

Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer

Fat Vampire by Adam Rex

The Bride Wore Black Leather by Simon R. Green

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare

Fragile Eternity by Melissa Marr

Deadlocked by Charlaine Harris

Little Bee by Chris Cleave

Divergent by Veronica Roth

Heartless by Gail Carriger

In the House of Five Dragons by Erica Lindquist and Aron Christensen

World War Z by Max Brooks

Jenny Pox by JL Bryan

The Tears of Elios by Crista McHugh

Angel Town by Lilith Saintcrow

The Exiled Queen by Cinda Williams Chima

Angel Time by Anne Rice

The Bakkian Chronicles: The Prophecy by Jeffrey Poole

Resurrection by Arwen Elys Datton

Chasing the Bard by Philippa Ballantine

A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs

The Sense of an Ending by Luian Barnes

The Demon Queen and the Locksmith by Spencer Baum

The Department of Magic by Rod Kierkegaard, Jr.

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Undone by Rachel Caine

Delirium by Lauren Oliver

Live and Let Drood by Simon R. Green

The Emerald Atlas by John Stephens

Wildwood book 1 by Colin Meloy

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (from an idea by Siobhan Dowd)

About Jeannie

NYC born and raised. Bibliophile and ailurophile. Aspiring writer and singer of karaoke masterpieces. Humongous fan of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. 2013 Reading Challenge Jeannie has read 77 books toward her goal of 100 books. hide 77 of 100 (77%) view books
This entry was posted in Reading in General and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My 75

  1. Ethan says:

    Way to go! I just can’t seem to find the motivation — or the reading material — to read that many books. Lately, every book I’ve tried to read has ended up driving me mad.

Got something to say? Tell me!

