Monday Musings #3


So, it’s been a week since I last wrote and I’ve missed you! I was crazy at work and just didn’t have the energy to write, so I apologize in case you were eagerly anticipating my latest post. I’m writing now as the Yankees work to beat Baltimore in Game one of the ALDS Wild Card.

So, where did I leave you… ah yes, The Casual Vacancy. I’m going to give it an overall score of: Meh. Characters were good, but the plot just didn’t seem to move. As I was reading it, I felt like it was a ton of exposition, then a ton of rising action, then blammo- major event, then done. There were no real emotional highs and no lows. No major surprises. I tried not to be too disappointed, or to get my hopes up too high as this was Rowling’s first post-Harry Potter novel… but it was just lackluster. So, if you’re a fan of Rowling, go ahead. If you’re not, don’t waste your time.

So, after I finally finished that, I wanted to start something that I was going to enjoy, so I started reading Barb Hendee’s Vampire Memories series. Book 1 is Blood Memories. Now, I love Barb & J.C. Hendee’s “Noble Dead” series, and started this one because I’m a fan. However, there’s a definite lack of substance to these novels.  Maybe because they take place in “our” world- a setting I’m familiar with; maybe it’s the narrative device of the telepathic link to tell a life’s history… Not sure.

We interrupt this regularly scheduled blog to let you know that THE YANKEES WON.

Back to the blog… I’m on to Book two of the Hendee series now and it’s progressing- new characters, conflicts with old enemies re-emerging… I’m just waiting to see how things play out to see if I’ll continue reading the series.  I probably will just because I don’t like to leave a series unfinished (this causes a problem when it comes to series like The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan when each book is over 800 pages long… Needless to say, I’m  a wee bit behind in those books), but in this case, I might just let it go because I’m not in love with any of the characters- they haven’t struck a visceral chord with me.

So I shall bid you adieu for the time being and wish you a Happy Monday.

About Jeannie

NYC born and raised. Bibliophile and ailurophile. Aspiring writer and singer of karaoke masterpieces. Humongous fan of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. 2013 Reading Challenge Jeannie has read 77 books toward her goal of 100 books. hide 77 of 100 (77%) view books
This entry was posted in Reading in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Tell me!

