Monday Musings #4


Wow, I’m at four Mondays of blogging- a whole month! That’s very exciting for me. I’ve actually managed to stay committed to something for a whole month! Woohoo! Well, I guess it’s pretty easy when I’m in love with books and enjoy writing about books.

So last week I finished The Iron Wyrm Affair by Lilith Saintcrow.  I must admit, I was less than thrilled with this outing.  The Steampunk elements were there, in spades, but I didn’t fall in love with the characters. I felt that there wasn’t any real chemistry as partners between Bannon and Clare.  While they were definitely reluctant partners, the chemistry didn’t grow over the course of the novel, although Clare mentions that he has grown to trust Bannon a bit toward the end.  It was all very Victorian formal.

Additionally, I found the action a bit jumpy. While Clare is supposed to be this amazing logic machine, a math genius, he wasn’t sharing all of his logic, which made it hard to follow his leaps in reasoning. And Bannon definitely took leaps of logic, bouncing all around Londinium. She was also a hard character to like. Whereas it was easy to become connected to Dante Valentine, Emma Bannon is standoffish.    Even her Shield doesn’t know if he really likes her, even if he is willing to let her use him to “release some steam.”

I just felt very disconnected from the whole story, which was disappointing to me because I’m used to becoming very immersed in Saintcrow’s novels.  Oh well, can’t be perfect all the time.

So after finishing the Iron Wyrm Affair, I moved on to Kim Harrison’s latest collection of short stories based in her world of The Hollows, Into the Woods. Of course I’ve been singing the song every time I read the words in print.  I have a very strong connection between reading and music (yes, a topic for another post) .

At the same time, I began Kitty’s House of Horrors by Carrie Vaughn. I’ve been reading the Kitty Norville series since its beginning and I love it. Kitty Norville is a werewolf (yes, a werewolf named “Kitty”) and syndicated DJ of an evening talk show about the supernatural.  Kitty grows into her role as a “leader of the pack” throughout the novels, meeting different types of “supes” in her many adventures.  This novel was tough, however, because we saw the loss of several interesting characters.  I won’t tell  you who, because that would be rude, but it’s rough.

Unlike The Iron Wyrm AffairKitty’s House of Horrors had me hooked from the beginning. Granted, I’ve already invested myself in the series, so it was pretty easy to assume I’d enjoy this one too, but authors can always have off days. I think I was missing a sense of snark from Saintcrow’s book. Dante Valentine always had good little come-backs for everything. Kitty Norville is a walking snark-fest, which I love.

So, between The Hollows and Kitty, I was busy with good reading all weekend. I didn’t finish Into the Woods (“I have to go, it might be all in vain I know…”) but that’s because I tend not to read straight through short story collections.  I’m not a huge fan of short story or novella collections because just when I’m getting a vested interest in the plot or characters, the story ends.  However, because I love The Hollows and the characters that live there, I’ll probably be back for a visit shortly. Needless to say, I’m eagerly awaiting Harrison’s next full-length entry.

All right, Dear Readers, that’s it for now. I’m almost at 100 books for the year- woohoo! Keep the pages turning and the home fires burning.

About Jeannie

NYC born and raised. Bibliophile and ailurophile. Aspiring writer and singer of karaoke masterpieces. Humongous fan of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. 2013 Reading Challenge Jeannie has read 77 books toward her goal of 100 books. hide 77 of 100 (77%) view books
This entry was posted in Reading in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Tell me!

