Outlander Hiatus = Time to Write


It’s been quite a while since I actually posted new, and original, content. I apologize for that, Dear Readers, but sometimes life just takes hold and won’t let go.  Or in my case, Outlander took hold and didn’t let go.  At least until the mid-season finale which aired on September 27th in the US.

I was faithfully glued to the tv each Saturday night, watching in awe as one of my favorite books came to life on the screen. During the weeks, when not at work, I was faithfully glued to Facebook, Twitter, and whatever other social media site I could deal with before my brain gave up and forced me to go to sleep.

Dinner? We’d better be home before 9 o’clock! Movie? Same deal. Channel changed at 9 o’clock to Starz. One of the most enjoyable elements of the show, for me, was being able to watch it with my folks, seeing them fall in love (or at least become interested) in the characters I’ve loved for so many years. I came home one evening and found my dad watching The Wedding episode by himself because he “had to catch up.” And then there was the time we had to DVR the show because we were away.  We came home from our trip, and as soon as dinner was done, Dad said “Outlander, Outlander!”  Score 1 Outmander convert for this gal!

So now it’s over for the time being and the fever-pitch of fandom has cooled. Now is the slow simmer of our discontent… at not having Outlander on the television every week. But, there is some good news to be had at the 6 month hiatus of Outlander. I can get back to writing.

If you’ve been following me for a while, you know I faced an existential crisis at the end of last year- I didn’t meet my Goodreads goal. I was devastated. I’ve pretty muched blocked last year out of my memory with regard to books, but doubled my efforts for this year to make sure I didn’t fall behind my schedule. I’m proud to say that I’ve read 84 books since January 1st and I’m 9 books ahead of target for my goal of 100 books for 2014.

But what about the writing? Well that has suffered more than the reading has.  The reading is an integral part of my day. Without reading, I feel undernourished. If books had calories, I’d be in deep trouble.  Thank God they’re nourishment for the soul, not the body. But writing, writing is different. For me, writing is based on mood and energy.  If I don’t feel like I have the mental energy to write, I won’t.  I  can only dedicate my focus to a finite number of things. This summer, work took up most of my focus. Outlander  took the rest. This is probably why I have never finished the novels I’ve started.

I have six months now, before the slow simmer roils back to a boil, in which to explore my writing again. I’m thinking of participating more in NaNoWriMo, so that I can possibly, finish one of my novels before the end of the year.  Even if I don’t do that, I do want to make sure to start writing more frequently.  I’ve missed the interaction that writing publicly brings, as well as the chance to hone my craft.

So, thank you, Outlander, for giving me time to write again. I’m off to make the most of it.

About Jeannie

NYC born and raised. Bibliophile and ailurophile. Aspiring writer and singer of karaoke masterpieces. Humongous fan of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series. 2013 Reading Challenge Jeannie has read 77 books toward her goal of 100 books. hide 77 of 100 (77%) view books
This entry was posted in Reading in General, TV, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Got something to say? Tell me!

